Doheny Memorial Library

Doheny Memorial Library Exterior
Doheny Memorial Library LA Times Reference Room

Library Hours

  • Doheny Memorial Library
  • Sat Aug 17
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Aug 18
    noon to 5pm
  • Mon Aug 19
    9am to 6pm
  • Tue Aug 20
    9am to 6pm
  • Wed Aug 21
    9am to 6pm
  • Thu Aug 22
    9am to 6pm
  • Fri Aug 23
    9am to 5pm
  • Sat Aug 24
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Aug 25
    noon to 5pm
  • Mon Aug 26
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Aug 27
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Aug 28
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Aug 29
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Aug 30
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Aug 31
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Sep 01
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Sep 02
    Closed
  • Tue Sep 03
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Sep 04
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Sep 05
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Sep 06
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Sep 07
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Sep 08
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Sep 09
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Sep 10
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Sep 11
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Sep 12
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Sep 13
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Sep 14
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Sep 15
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Sep 16
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Sep 17
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Sep 18
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Sep 19
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Sep 20
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Sep 21
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Sep 22
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Sep 23
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Sep 24
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Sep 25
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Sep 26
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Sep 27
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Sep 28
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Sep 29
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Sep 30
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Oct 01
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Oct 02
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Oct 03
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Oct 04
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Oct 05
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Oct 06
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Oct 07
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Oct 08
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Oct 09
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Oct 10
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Oct 11
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Oct 12
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Oct 13
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Oct 14
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Oct 15
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Oct 16
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Oct 17
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Oct 18
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Oct 19
    9am to 5pm
  • Sun Oct 20
    noon to 8pm
  • Mon Oct 21
    8am to 10pm
  • Tue Oct 22
    8am to 10pm
  • Wed Oct 23
    8am to 10pm
  • Thu Oct 24
    8am to 10pm
  • Fri Oct 25
    8am to 8pm
  • Sat Oct 26
    9am to 5pm

Location
Doheny Memorial Library
3550 Trousdale Parkway
University Park Campus
Los Angeles CA 90089-0185

Circulation Desk: (213) 740-2924
Reference Desk: (213) 740-4039

Fax: (213) 740-3488
Email: dmlnotes@usc.edu
Campus map code: DML

About this library

The historic Edward L. Doheny Jr. Memorial Library has served as an intellectual center and cultural treasure for generations of students, faculty and staff since it opened in 1932. Created as a memorial to Edward L. Doheny Jr., a USC trustee and alumnus, this landmark building was USC's first freestanding library. Since its doors first opened, it remains one of the university's most important and popular academic facilities.

In addition to housing a vast book and journal collection, Doheny also has spaces for studying, collaborative work, and special events. Students often study in the Los Angeles Times Mirror Reference Room or on the ground floor's Arts Corridor, located conveniently close to Doheny's tea house, LiteraTea. To work collaboratively, students may make an in-person reservation for a collaborative workroom in the East Asian Library. For special events and meetings requiring multimedia capabilities, room reservations can be made online for the East Asian Library's seminar room and conference room.

Patrons are also welcome to attend special events and presentations in the Intellectual Commons or to visit exhibits in the Treasure Room and Rotunda/Art's Corridor. Doheny is also home to the Cinematic Arts Library, East Asian Library, Music Library and Special Collections.

Circulation Desk

Doheny's Circulation Desk is the main service point at the library. Staff members and student library assistants are also readily available to answer basic reference and circulation questions at all open hours. Patrons may also request for staff to retrieve DVDs from the East Asian Library collection at the front desk.

Reference/Research Services

While staff members and student library assistants are available to answer basic reference questions during open hours at the front desk, reference librarians are also available for in-depth research assistance Mondays-Thursdays from 11 a.m. to  5 p.m., and Friday from 12 a.m. to 4 p.m.  Librarian assistance is also available by telephone at 213-740-4039, and by email, synchronous live chat, and by appointment through ask-a-librarian

Collections

Doheny Library's main collections are housed on Stacks Levels 9, 5, 4, 2 with bound journals and East Asian books on Stacks Level 1. These levels can be accessed through the doorway marked "Bookstacks" behind the front desk. The main Reference and Classics collections are housed in the Los Angeles Times Mirror Reference Room to the right of the front desk. Recent editions of scholarly and popular journals and newspapers are located in the Current Periodicals Room. To the left of the front desk is the East Asian Library which contains reference and current periodicals in Chinese, Japanese, and Korean languages. Special Collections is located on the 2nd floor.

Directions

Doheny Library is located in the center of campus, adjacent to Alumni Park and across from Bovard Auditorium, on Trousdale Avenue. The closest parking available is at Gate #2 which has an entrance on Exposition Boulevard at Pardee Way.

For more information regarding parking on campus, visit the Parking Services Website.